How Much does Gratitude Mean to Me?

imagesxcejf605  How many times have I wanted gratitude for something I have done, for another?

How many times have I walked away from another feeling sadden or angry because I did not get it?

How many times have I done something for another to make myself feel good and prideful, regarding the virtues I think I have?

How many times have I done something for another to place a smile on my face, instead of their’s?

How many times have I become angry with those I have helped, because when I needed it I could not be repaid?

How many times do I forget these are qualities about myself, which took the death of a Man on the Cross, to redeem me from?

When you have done all you have been commanded, say, ‘We are unprofitable servants; we have done what is our duty.’

Luke 17:10

God Bless, SR

photo courtesy of:
http://www.etsy.com
8 responses to “How Much does Gratitude Mean to Me?

  1. We are such weak and broken creatures, we human beings. So self-centered. Isn’t it a miracle that God can use our weakness and brokenness to carry out His plan for salvation! It is good to stop and reflect, as you did in your post, and doing that alone filled me with gratitude and a desire to serve Him, in thanks for His mercy and unconditional love.

    Like

    • Hey Reinkat,

      Thanks for comment. I am doing a lot of “reflecting” these days, which I intend to email you about. It seems God is taking me on a journey of “reflections” right now, through Scripture. It has been truly life giving for me, and is making me seek different things in life. I think this is a journey I am going to enjoy.

      We are “weak and broken” yet He told St. Paul, (more or less) “These are the very things He uses in us for His strength and glory to shine forth.”

      Now how He does it is a mystery to me, but my place is to trust He can and will use it all. Again thanks for comment. Love and God Bless, SR

      Like

  2. The answer for me to these great reflective questions is too many times. By His grace though, I can see growth in doing His will. Great post!

    Like

    • Well hello Mike and welcome,

      Before I respond I have really enjoyed reading your post and meant to hit the “follow button” on this last one. Well I guess that means I will have to go back and do it! 🙂

      “Too many for me,” also, but I place myself in good company. 🙂 I think there is a certain amount of pride in each and every one of us, who wants and desires a “certain amount of gratitude.” I know regarding myself there have been times in my life where I actually thought, “I deserved it.” Now can you imagine? 🙂

      Today’s readings actually opened my eyes to that part of myself, which I am hoping to change, yes, (through grace.) Thanks for comment and again welcome. God Bless, SR

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for these very thought-provoking questions, SR!

    Like

    • Hey Mary,

      Thanks for comment. They were “very thought provoking” for me! It is amazing if we will take the time with Scripture to think about it for a few moments what will come out about ourselves.

      How are things going? Offering Mass intentions for you and praying daily. Keep you in my heart every single day. Love and God Bless, SR

      Like

  4. SR, I like this post a lot. But I would like to add one passage to the mix. Luke 6:34-35 (NIV)
    And if you lend to those from whom you expect repayment, what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners, expecting that they will repay in full. But love your enemies, do good to them and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be children of the High Priest because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked.

    So, as you have rightly indicated, doing good should be second nature.

    Thanks so much for sharing. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Noel,

    Thanks for comment and also thanks for the wonderful Scripture addition. Kind of completed it.

    Expecting “gratitude” Noel, I think is a common trait in all of us at times. I will admit it, “gratitude” makes me feel good. I do not think at times, this is necessarily a bad thing, when the right motive is behind our actions. When said actions are truly for the other person and not ourselves. When we are not doing them to “esteem” ourselves in the “eyes of others,” but because we really care and want to help others.

    I think as this passage says, “it is when we expect to get the “gratitude” is where we mess up. Good thoughts on your comment and God Bless, SR

    Like

Leave a Reply

