“Lord Have Pity on Me”

f235aa059fb6cbfb9cdd4c191bb9c96c  As I look towards myself and my surroundings today I have so much to be thankful for.

I have a home, running water, soap, clothes, heat and air-conditioning.  I have a vehicle, a bed to sleep in and a roof to sleep under.  I have shoes on my feet and food in my refrigerator.

My bills are paid and still some left over to help those less fortunate, than myself.

I am in fairly good health and still able to get up and do what I need to do, though slow sometimes it may be.

All the part’s of my body function, though some parts have aches and pains.

All my children and grandchildren are healthy, and we have four generations alive in my family.  (Actually most of my life I have had five generations still alive at one time.)

I live in a country where there are educated men and women who can take care of my health needs, when the need arises.

When was the last time I just took a good look at things and said, “Thank You God?”

Lord, have pity on me?

Today I will thank the Lord for all I have and do it daily.  I will also thank Him for all I do not have such as:

Leprosy,  a street for a bed, a garbage can for my food, infected water to drink, a disabled body, eyes that are blind, ears that are deaf, and a heart which feels nothing for anyone. 

Jesus said in reply, “Ten were cleansed, were they not?  Where are the other nine?  Has none but this foreigner returned to give thanks to God?”

Luke 7:17

Love and God Bless, SR

 

  

8 responses to ““Lord Have Pity on Me”

  1. truly.. count your blessings..vw

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I went to church last night I was feeling sorry for myself. The readings were all about gratitude. As your list shows, SR, we always have so much to be thankful for. It’s important that we don’t lose sight of that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Mary,

      I think we all have the “feeling sorry for myself” moments. I know I have had plenty in my life, especially when I was walking the mile in your shoes. Life would have been so much better back then if I would have taken a few moments daily and just looked around. As Daddy always use to teach us, “When you think you have it hard, look around there is always someone who has it harder.” I am thankful for many things in my life Mary. One I am most thankful for, is the help I was to my Mother. It was hard on me, my life, my marriage etc… I have no regrets and I can live with myself. So be thankful that the help you are giving and doing, will leave you with no regrets. Love you and God Bless, SR

      Like

  3. Another excellent thought-provoking post. Well done SR! Thanks be to God!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Mike,

    Glad it made you think! 🙂 It is making me do the same!!! Yes, ALWAYS, Thanks be to God! God Bless, SR

    Like

  5. I am truly thankful and have to remind my children often how well off they are. They complain sometimes because they haven’t experienced real hardship. I took them to the movie, Queen of Katwe, about a family from Uganda, visibly showing true poverty. We also take them camping often, knowing it does them good! Always looking for ways to show them the truth. How are we to grow if not from suffering?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Welcome Mlogan and thanks for comment. I think one of the mistakes any parent can make is to continuously try to “shield” their children from life. I see this all to often in this day and age. I was never shield and neither were my children. Surprise, surprise, we are all still alive!!! 🙂

      I think you are doing right in showing them what “true suffering” is. You know with my kids it was always more about teaching them how to survive should their “normal” life pass away. I taught them how to can food, and the like. I did this to let them know food does not grow on a grocery store shelf. They worked from the time they were able with small chores, and then as they grew they got jobs. Very responsible adults and wonderful parents they all are.

      They know what it is to have and they know what it is not to have. They know what it is to suffer and they know what it is not to suffer. This to me is “true life.” As parent’s in my opinion we are lying to them when we try and make them see it differently. Again welcome and thanks for comment. God Bless, SR

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

