Lord, “This, I Can Do!”

images

Lord, society wants me to accept abortion and pro-choice.  Even those who call themselves, “Children of God.”  How can I do this Lord, and my soul reach You, when my body is laid to rest?   Lord, I cannot.

Lord, society wants me to accept the teachings and beliefs of other religions, even those who deny You.  Lord, I cannot.

Lord, society wants me to accept sin because of their agenda’s and right’s.  Lord, I cannot.

Lord, society wants me to accept persecution, imprisonment, and even the death of Your children, for simply loving You.  Lord, I cannot.

Lord, society wants me to accept foul language, deceit,  hatred, and mockery of all which You taught to us.  Lord, I cannot.

Lord, society wants me to accept turning a deaf ear and blind eye, to the suffering, the disabled, the poor and the aged.  Even to accepting putting them to death as they are viewed as a costly burden and of no use to society anymore.  Lord, I cannot.

Lord, society wants me to accept the Catholic Church is the “Whore of Babylon,” “The bastardization of faith,”  and the “Pope is the Beast.”  Lord, I cannot.  

“You will be handed over by your parents, brothers, relatives, and friends, and they will put some of you to death.”

Lord, how do I live in this society?  How do I live in a society, which You lived in?  A society which Crucified You on a Cross, simply because You taught and gave love and forgiveness?

I get tired of this society, Lord.  I get tired of all the evil and wickedness, and I wonder if it will ever end? 

“How long will the wicked prevail, Lord?”

At times Lord, I think I cannot go on from the fear of what the future holds for Your children, in this nation?

How does one go on Lord, when surrounded by so much evil, deaths of millions of babies, and hatred?  When so many in a nation desire doing away with your children’s freedom to worship You?

How do I carry this cross Lord, day after day?  How do I carry this cross Lord and not give way to the temptations, fears and heaviness of it, thereby losing my life? 

How?

“You will be hated by all because of my name, but not a hair on your head will be destroyed.”

“By your perseverance you will secure your lives.”

Lord, “This I can do!”

Reflections on Today’s Gospel Readings

Luke 21:5-19

Love and God Bless, SR

photo courtesy of:
mikespics.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Lord, “This, I Can Do!”

  1. SR, I love when you write from your heart. Even if I do not agree. Don’t get me wrong. I am very concerned about the ills of society as well. But my approach is slightly different. I take the Lot/Jesus approach. Point out the sin and feed the people with the Word. Because I know every man will be paid according to his work. I know I cannot change anybody. Only the Word. That’s the reason, Jesus commanded us to preach the Word to all people. He that has ears let him hear.

    Like

  2. SR, thank you for sharing your heart so honestly…you are wonderful at that:-)

    The only thing that gets me through all that you speak of, is praying that the Lord fills me daily with His Holy Spirit, and that he has mercy on me and the whole world. When the struggle seems too difficult, or the pain and /or bitterness start to take over, I offer it to Jesus, and ask that he add my pain to his suffering in atonement for sins. Easier to say than to do…only His grace carries us through.
    Love you,
    Bernadette

    Like

  3. This really comes the heart and it made me think about where I sit and where I stand. I heard a quote at a conference not too long ago and it seems fitting with what you wrote about ”Whoever controls media, the images, control society.” Isn’t that so true? Keep up the good work, I enjoy your blog ❤

    Like

  4. SR, I wish you and your family a very Happy Thanksgiving. I hope for the peace of Jesus to reign in your life. With all the strife in this world, we all have so much to be thankful for. God bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

